Students win scholarships from Starkey

MINNEAPOLIS—Five outstanding future audiologists have been named William F. Austin Scholarship winners, and 10 others were honored as Outstanding Student Clinician.

The Austin Scholars, who were selected from nearly 140 applicants, will receive up to $10,000 from Starkey Laboratories, Inc., to pursue their studies. The scholarships are named for the founder and principal owner of Starkey, the largest U.S. manufacturer of hearing aids and related technology.

Those honored are Imola Major, a graduate student at San Diego State University and the University of California-San Diego; Andy Lau, Salus University George S. Osborne College of Audiology; Alexandra Parbery-Clark, Northwestern University; Jennifer Fowler, University of Iowa; and Brittany Hensley, University of Florida-College of Public Health and Health Professions.

The Outstanding Student Clinician scholarships will go to graduate students pursuing careers in clinical audiology and private practice. They are Julie Wheeler, University of Oklahoma Health Science Center; Kari Morgenstein, University of Florida; Kristin Baldwin, Long Island AuD Consortium; Mary Catherine Denman, University of Pittsburgh; Viral Tejani, University of Maryland; Courtney Luffler, Northeast Ohio AuD Consortium/University of Akron; Dana Matthyssen, Missouri State University; Deyanira Gonzalez, Lamar University; Dyanna Hamstra, Purdue University; and Jacqueline Hackbarth, University of Iowa.