AAA members choose Erin Miller as president-elect; elect four directors

MillerRESTON, VA—Erin L. Miller, AuD, the coordinator of the Northeast Ohio AuD Consortium, will become president-elect of the American Academy of Audiology (AAA) on July 1, succeeding Bettie Borton, AuD, the current president-elect who will take over the presidency on that date from Deborah Carlson, PhD.

Miller and four AAA directors were elected by the academy’s membership in voting that ended February 27. Named to the board as members at large were Shilpi Banerjee, PhD; Jackie L. Clark, PhD; Antony R. Joseph, AuD, PhD; and M. Samantha Lewis, PhD.

Miller, who has served three years as an AAA director, is a member of the clinical faculty at the University of Akron, and is coordinator of the hearing aid dispensary there. Previously she worked in the private sector with Neuro-Communication Services, Inc., from 1993 to 2005.

As a nominee for president-elect, Miller said that if elected she would work to expand the academy’s library of evidence-based practice guidelines and funding for research, and would promote consistent training standards for AuD programs and “recruitment of the best and brightest to the profession.”

Miller, who received her MA in audiology in 1986 from Kent State University and her AuD from the University of Florida, has been prominent in professional organizations. A former president of the Ohio Academy of Audiology, she has held numerous leadership positions at AAA, including chairing its Government Relations Committee and its Ethical Practices Committee. She was an AAA director from 2007–2008 and from 2011 to the present. She has received both the Active Advocate of the Year Award and the Presidential Award from AAA.



Shilpi Banerjee, one of those elected to the AAA board last month, was already a director, having been selected to serve the final year of Bettie Borton’s term when she became president-elect in 2012. Banerjee is associate professor and director of clinical education at the newly established Pacific University School of Audiology in Hillsboro, OR. Previously she was senior research audiologist at Starkey Hearing Technologies after receiving her PhD in 2003 from Northwestern University in Communication Sciences and Disorders.

Jackie Clark wears many professional hats. Along with being clinical associate professor in the School of Behavioral and Brain Sciences at the University of Texas, she also holds positions at the School of Speech and Hearing Therapy and the University of The Witwatersrand, South Africa, and is owner-partner, of Cedar Creek Hearing Center in Tool, TX. Clark is well known for her humanitarian activities in Africa, for which she received AAA’s Humanitarian Award in 2006.

Antony R. Joseph is an audiologist with the Navy Environmental & Preventive Medicine Unit FIVE, in San Diego. He holds both an AuD (from Central Michigan University) and a PhD (from Michigan State University). Since joining the U.S. Navy in 1997, he has received numerous medals and commendations from the navy and also from the army and air force for his service, which that has taken him to Japan, Kuwait, and Guantanamo Bay, among other postings.

M. Samantha Lewis is a research audiologist/investigator at the National Center for Rehabilitative Auditory Research at the Portland VA Medical Center and assistant professor at Oregon Health & Science University. Lewis, who received her PhD from the University of Florida, has been an editor of the Journal of the American Academy of Audiology since 2002–and chaired the Program Committee for AudiologyNOW! 2009.