Nominees sought for 2013 Mauldin Award

CHICAGO—The call went out last week for nominations for the 14th annual Larry Mauldin Award. Since 1999, the Mauldin Awards have recognized individuals who have demonstrated unsurpassed dedication to excellence in education and professionalism in the hearing care field and who have unselfishly given back to their profession, the community and those with hearing loss.

The annual award, which is presented by Beltone Electronics, is named for and honors the accomplishments of the late Larry Mauldin for his work and commitment to education in audiology. Mauldin’s passion was to advance the knowledge of audiology and hearing aid fittings to as broad an audience as possible. Recipients of the award are nominated by their professional peers.

This year’s Mauldin Award will be presented at AudiologyNOW!, the 2013 Convention of the American Academy of Audiology, which will be held April 3-6 in Anaheim, CA.

Nominations must be e-mailed to Cydney Fox, AuD, ( no later than January 31. Nominations must include the following:

• A written statement about the nominee

• An explanation of why the person is deserving of the award

• The number of years the person has worked in the hearing care field

• Contact information for the nominator and the nominee



The 2013 Mauldin Award winner will join a select group of audiologists who have received this honor in the past.

They are: Michael Santucci (1999), Maxine Di Bartolommeo and Jim Dean (2000), Robert Margolis (2001), Don W. Worthington (2002), Barry A. Freeman (2003), Thomas O. Davidson (2004), Ross J. Roeser (2005), Terry E. Foust and Ian M. Windmill (2006), Carole E. Johnson (2007), George Osborne (2008), Catherine Palmer (2009), Jody Winzelberg (2010), Joe Smaldino and Juliëtte Sterkens (2011), and Tom Muller (2012).

Founded in 1940, Beltone is part of the GN Hearing Care Group. Its Chicago-based hearing care network has over 1500 offices in North America.