Ian Windmill is voted AAA president-elect; three new directors elected

RESTON, VA—American Academy of Audiology (AAA) members have elected a future president and three new members of the board of directors, all four of whom practice audiology in medical centers.

Ian Windmill
Ian Windmill

In month-long voting that concluded on February 17, Ian M. Windmill, PhD, who is clinical director in the Division of Audiology at Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center, was chosen to become president-elect, effective July 1.

Elected to 3-year terms as members at large on the academy’s board were Holly L. Burrows, AuD; Virginia Ramachandran, AuD, PhD; and Sarah Sydlowski, AuD, PhD.

Windmill, a 17-year member of AAA, will succeed Larry Eng, PhD, as president-elect on July 1, when Eng takes over from Erin Miller, AuD, at the conclusion of her 1-year term as president. Windmill served on the board of the academy in 1993-94 and 1996-97.

Before moving to Cincinnati Children’s Hospital last year, Windmill was chief of the Division of Communicative Sciences at the University of Mississippi Medical Center for 5 years after spending 13 years at the University of Louisville, where he was director of the Division of Audiology in the Department of Surgery. While at Louisville, Windmill was a partner in University Surgical Associates and managing partner of University Audiology Associates, a private audiologic practice associated with University Surgical Associates.

He chaired the Accreditation Commission for Audiology Education from 2006–2011 and has been a member of the American Auditory Society since 1983.

Among the honors the newly named president-elect has received are the Larry Mauldin National Award for Excellence in Education; selection as keynote speaker at the 2013 Biennial Conference on Teaching in Audiology; participation in the 2012 Conference on Education of the Deaf sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, Office of Special Education; and being named guest speaker at the Second China Conference on Audiology, in Beijing, in 2014.

He serves on numerous boards, including of the Magnolia Speech School, Jackson, MS; the George Osborne College of Audiology; and the Ear Nose and Throat Journal.

Windmill, who received his PhD from Florida State University in 1983, is the second man in a row to win election as the academy’s president-elect. The six presidents-elect before Eng were all women.



Holly Burrows
Holly Burrows

The three winning candidates for the AAA board, who are all age 40 or younger, will take office on July 1, succeeding Carol G. Cokely, PhD; Patricia A. Gaffney, AuD; and Richard Roberts, PhD.

Holly Burrows is chief of audiology at Walter Reed National Military Medical Center in Bethesda, MD. Burrows, who was awarded a 
Civilian Service Achievement Medal by the Department of the Army in 2011, received her master’s in audiology from the University of Maryland in 1998 and her AuD 
from the University of Florida in 2004.

Virginia Ramachandran
Virginia Ramachandran

Virginia Ramachandran is senior staff audiologist and research coordinator in the Division of Audiology, Department of Otolaryngology—Head and Neck Surgery, at Henry Ford Hospital in Detroit. She is also clinical education coordinator and adjunct assistant professor, Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders, at Wayne State University, where she earned four degrees: a BA and MS in social work, in 1999 and 2000, respectively; an AuD in 2000; and a PhD in audiology in 2012. She was selected to participate in AAA’s 2014 Jerger Future Leaders in Audiology Conference.

Sarah Sydlowski
Sarah Sydlowski

Sarah Sydlowski is audiology director of the Hearing Implant Program at the Cleveland Clinic. She received the Audiology Foundation of America’s Outstanding Third Year AuD Student Award in 2005, while attending the University of Louisville. In 2010, she earned her 
PhD in audiology from Gallaudet University.

The three newly elected directors will join Shilpi Banerjee, PhD; Antony Joseph, AuD, PhD; Jackie Clark, PhD; Lisa Christensen, AuD; Todd A. Ricketts, PhD; Erin Miller, AuD; and Dan Ostergren, AuD on the academy board.