Cochlear Americas names scholarship winners

CENTENNIAL, COEight college students who use implantable technology to overcome hearing loss will receive $2000-a-year scholarships from Cochlear Americas for up to four years at an accredited college or university. Cochlear Americas is the North American division of Cochlear Limited, the Australian company that is the world’s largest manufacturer of cochlear implants.

Five students were selected as winners of the 13th annual Graeme Clark Scholarships. They are named for the Australian doctor who was a pioneer in the research, invention, and development of Cochlear’s multi-channel cochlear implant.

The recipients are Lexi Grafe, of Rochester, MN, a freshman at the University of Denver; Emily Hewlings, Hatfield, MA, a freshman at Goucher College; Mykella Jones, Mesa, AZ, a freshman at the University of Arizona; Stephanie McCoy, Shrewsbury, MA, a freshman at Georgetown University; and Julia Selezneva, Berkeley, CA, a medical student in the University of California, San Francisco, and University of California, Berkeley Joint Medical Program.

Three students will receive Anders Tjellström Scholarships, which are being awarded for the second year. Tjellström, a Swedish physician, implanted the first bone-conduction hearing solution in three patients in 1977. The device, now trademarked as Baha, is also made by Cochlear Limited.

The recipients are Madeline Betterly, of Okemos, MI, a freshman at Wayne State University; Sydny Bohuk, Tipton, IN, a freshman at the University of Indiana; and Hannah Shule Katz, Boston, MA, a vocal performance major at Boston University.

The winners will be formally recognized during Cochlear Celebration in San Diego on February 17. This three-day gathering, which is expected to draw more than 1200 people, is hosted by Cochlear Americas to provide Nucleus and Baha System recipients and their families the opportunity to learn and network with others who have had similar experiences.